Registered 13 May 2011
|Posted 30 Oct 2012 3:31 am UTC Reply|
I recently had a houseguest who is avoiding gluten. She says small amounts are ok, but it got me to thinking. The next morning I served oatmeal for breakfast. Hm. Is it gluten-free?
I did a bit of searching and the most helpful article I found was this:
It says that oatmeal is naturally gluten-free, but is often contaminated with bits of wheat, barley, and rye.
My guest said she often eats oatmeal, but buys the organic brand because "they are more careful". That seems like wishful thinking to me.
If you have any experiences with oatmeal and gluten, I'd be interested... thanks.